Picture
























No. 2 (PH-401)
1957
oil on canvas
113x155 in.
https://www.clyffordstillmuseum.org/


Raised during a tumultuous time in American history, Clyfford Still was a major player in the first wave of Abstract Expressionism. Focused on emotional expression and the subconscious, Abstract Expressionism is a clear response to the horrors of World War II.  This movement can be narrowed down further into specific groups that match stylistically, one of which is Still’s own color field. 

In color field paintings, colors are depicted as flat as possible, allowing the colors themselves to become the main subject matter of the work. In observing Still’s style, it is easy to see that this easily exemplifies the work he created. In fact, his name is closely tied in the creation of this offshoot of Abstract Expressionism. While many color field painters created simple lines and shapes of colors, Still instead crafted jagged, less uniform shapes. These shapes appear to be almost torn due to these jagged edges. His colors are rich and exact, creating a very aesthetically pleasing result.

This is the main thing regarding Still that I draw inspiration from. His own usage of color field encouraged me to further explore this movement, which brought me full circle in my artist studies as it reminded me of Sol Lewitt, whom I studied my sophomore year. By borrowing ideas from these two artists, I began to incorporate blocks of color in my own work. I discovered what they likely discovered: that there is something intensely satisfying about creating perfectly straight lines or perfectly uniform colors. I always add imagery to my art at the very end, allowing me to work on the colors of the background for as long as possible and to truly appreciate the way they complement one another.

Still has helped lead me to my own style of work, but he also taught me what it means to truly love your work. In his will, he dedicated his entire body of work (worth unimaginable sums of money) to any city that would protect it, care for it, and show it to the world. I find this to be the perfect relationship with art. He loved his art so much, it was such a part of him, that all he wanted was for someone else to look after it and love it as he did. He exemplifies to me an artist who truly created for the right reasons, because he was truly passionate about it;.

                                         
                                                  


Mike Guyer
1/22/2013 04:06:27 am

Go see Still's work at the VMFA. Then, go to the National Gallery in D.C. to see the great work they have of his. I like that you are able to draw inspiration from artists like Still and LeWitt, as they are not often the big superstars of art in the minds of young people. You have a very developed sense of aesthetics, and I hope you continue to dive into the ideas that surrounded the Abstract Expressionist movement.

Reply



Leave a Reply.