Picture















While this piece is important in that it follows the common thread of my work, it is more important is the way that it connects me to my own past. The first piece of work that I ever truly threw myself into was my Current Event project Sophomore year. Up until that point, art was more of just a class to me. I took it because I had always taken it, but it was not a huge part of my life. The time, energy, and soul I put into that piece two years ago is what inspired me to begin taking art seriously. Ever since that project, I have made art a priority in my life. This piece utilizes the same dominant imagery as that piece two years ago, thus connecting me to own past. Painting the image of the soldier reminded me of how long a process the original was. It put me back in the same position I was at age sixteen. I truly began to feel like a Sophomore again and, for just a moment, I forgot about all the stresses I have been undergoing since I legally became an adult. This painting helped me calm down and it helped me remember. While it may not hold such a deep meaning to every viewer, I hope that, once it is completed, it will have enough visual and mental stimulation to keep the viewer looking for a moment. 

Mike Guyer
1/22/2013 04:10:42 am

Continue to work on the detail in the figure. As you mentioned in the critique, there are still at least twenty hours or so of painting left to bring full resolution to that painted figure. I enjoy the juxtaposition of tightly rendered achromatic melancholy images with the vibrant cheerful color fields. This is definitely the direction your work should continue for a while. Congratulations on finding such a strong concept and aesthetic. I believe each work you make from this point forward will build nicely upon your most recent work. I'm really looking forward to your senior show.

Reply



Leave a Reply.