Picture











This set of ten was purely about experimentation. I played with spray paint, water color, paper, metallics, gravity, leaves, etc, in order to fully explore the different mediums. I wanted to dedicate these ten works to experimentation simply because it's something that I don't typically do. I have been so focused on creating things a certain way (typically realistic painting) that I really wanted to do something different. I got a lot of negative feedback on these, mostly because my peers didn't like me deviating from my previous style. Either way, I was really glad I gave myself a chance to grow and adapt as an artist, despite the fact that the results weren't amazing. However, there were a couple of things that I really liked from this set. Firstly, I got an opportunity to play with the natural feel of the wood. I filled a knot in the wood with paint and allowed it to drip down. I liked working with what was already there, so it's something that may very well show up in my art in the future. The only other thing from this set that might keep cropping up is the metallics. 




Leave a Reply.